anambra2Anambra State government says it has set aside one billion naira in the 2017 budget for social welfare programmes in the area.

The Secretary to the State Government, SSG,  Professor Solomon Chukwulobelu announced this while declaring open a four-day training of community based Targeting Team organized by the National Social Safety Net Coordinating Office in Awka.

Professor Chukwulobelu believed that the cash transfer component of the Federal government would enhance financial inclusion among the marginalized and vulnerable, boost economic activities in the rural communities and stem rural to urban drift.

“We have also created a robust cash transfer unit to facilitate implementation of the livelihood support activities.“

The SSG noted that part of conditions for receiving conditional cash transfer was that beneficiaries must send their children to school, stressing that the state government was making plans to employ all the physically challenged graduates in the state.

In a speech, the National Co-ordinator, National Social Safety Nets Coordinating Office, Mr. Peter Papka represented by the National Coordinator, Youth Employment and Social Support Operation, Mr. David Adejo explained that conditional cash transfer programme of the federal government would contribute to poverty reduction, enhancement of human capital, promotion of sustainable livelihood as well as protection of households from shocks.

“The essence of the National Social Safety Net Coordinating Office is to develop self help mechanism that will be able to reach the poorest of the poor in all communities of the country.“

One of the participants, Mrs. Chike  Nwaose  commended the federal government for the initiative.

“The programme is ok, it`s to help the vulnerable and poor people in our community because these days we have a lot of them, many of them are suffering. Some don`t have food to eat, some do not have money to pay for their children`s school fees. So with this programe now, it will help them to cope.“

Twelve participants each, from the twenty one local government areas of the state attended the event.