Eight Banks in Enugu State sealed by the state government

IMG-20170220-WA0010Eight Banks in Enugu State have been sealed off by the state government for not remitting about One Billion Naira owed in tax to the government coffers.

According to the Chairman, Enugu State Board of Internal Revenue, Mr. Emeka Odo seal off followed an exparte order obtained from the State High court to distrain the affected banks for unpaid taxes collected on behalf of the government for almost ten years.

While briefing journalists after the exercise in Enugu, the chairman of the board, Mr. Odo mentioned the banks affected as Access bank Plc, Stanbic IBTC Bank, Keystone Bank, Union Bank, Unity Bank, Heritage Bank, Skye Bank and Sterling Bank.

Mr. Odo said that the banks with a network of thirty-six branches in the metropolis, neighbouring towns of Agbani and Ituku Ozalla in Nkanu West Local Government Area, which were under lock pending when the money owed was remitted.

” In the past one year we have written the affected banks severally and held meeting with them on the subject matter but they would rather hold onto government funds illegally” he said..

The board chairman, Mr. Odo further explained that the one billion naira came as a result of withholding tax, which bank collect on the interest they pay depositors, and the ten percent from the interest paid to  customers belongs to government as taxes.

Some customers Mr. Ekene Samuel, Mr. Victor Chuks and Mrs Uchenna Cordelia seen of the affected banks lamented on how the interim closure  has affected their transactions and businesses.

Meanwhile, thestate government however urged the customers and the people o the state to remain calm as the action was to enable the state government deliver dividends of democracy to the people.

Previous post I’m impressed with Ugwuanyi’s Achievements in Enugu, says Balarabe Musa