Gov. Obiano To Resolve Anambra- Enugu Boundary Disputes

obianoIn a meeting at the governor’s lodge, Amawbia, a delegation from Enugu state led by the Deputy Governor, Mrs Cecilia Ezeilo and representatives from the National Boundary Commission Office, Abuja, rubbed minds with Governor Obiano, on how to permanently resolve the boundary issues.

Anambra and Enugu states in the southeast of Nigeria, are rich in natural resources, which has been a major cause of the boundary dispute that has lingered for a while between both states.

Addressing the press at the end of the closed door meeting, Anambra state’s Governor Obiano, noted that the end was in sight to all the boundary conflicts and disputes raging between the two states.

Furthermore, he added that the abundant natural resources in Anambra and Enugu should bring economic prosperity that would benefit both states rather than “unnecessary conflicts”.

The Governor remarked that “the last time the boundary issue was discussed was in 2012” and nothing came out of the meeting.

He however concluded emphatically that all issues would be resolved amicably this time around.

According to the representative of the Director General of the National Boundary Commission, Mr Adamu Adaji, a committee would be set up to carry out a geographical study to identify all the communities along the boundary and then embark on physical field exercise to determine the boundaries.

Mr Adaji said his commission was “pleading with the states to give their support and equally appeal to communities to cooperate and imbibe the spirit of oneness that Enugu and Anambra are known for, so we can make progress”.

He said with the assurances of the governors of both states, better progress would be made than in 2012.

The Caretaker Committee Chairman of Uzo-uwani local government area, Cornell Onwubuya, maintained that the states are brothers, and would be far better when in peace, as there were inexhaustible natural resources that could sustain them over a long period of time.

The areas affected in the boundary issues in Anambra are about ten communities and mostly in the north senatorial zone of the state, among which are: Omasi, Umumbo, Adani, Ebenebe, Okpeze and others.

Previous post Gov. Ikpeazu congratulates Enugu Rangers, FC Ifeanyi Ubah
Next post UNC entreats parents and guardians to avoid all forms of child abuse