Reporter: UCHE NDEKE

Election in various positions in the Anambra State Football Association (FA) has been concluded without anyone winners the Chairmanship position.

The election which was conducted amidst tight security and conducive atmosphere had football stakeholders, ambassadors, representative of Nigeria Football Association, Sports Writers Association of Nigeria, and other sports lovers in attendance.

Five members emerged as board members of the ANSFA while Mr. Victor Aniekwena won the Vice Chairmanship position.

However, few minutes before the voting process, the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, the Rev. Fr. Obinna Dike, announced that only one candidate, Mr. Chikeluo Iloenyosi, stood to contest for the Chairmanship position, making him the sole candidate for the post.

Of the twenty-three delegates, twenty were accredited to vote for the election.Despite being an unopposed candidate, Mr. Iloenyosi surprisingly got just one vote.

The Electoral Committee Chairman, the Rev. Fr. Dike, while addressing the media said the chairmanship candidate could not get simple majority of the vote cast and therefore could not emerge winner.

Reacting to the development, the sole Chairmanship candidate and former Super Eagles skipper, Mr. Iloenyosi, described it as a gang up, saying he would take the matter up legally.

Two football administrators, Mr. Odi Ikppeazu and Mr. Olisa Onuchukwu, described the outcome as a matter that required technical

Meanwhile, in an interview, the new Vice Chairman of the Anambra FA, Mr. Aniegbuna, thanked the delegates for electing them and promised to carry everybody along to ensure that sports activities in the state were uplifted and grassroots talents discovered.

Other members of the FA board included Cordelia Akanna, Oliver Ndigwe and Ralph George